In the News

This Is How You Delete A Text Message AFTER You’ve Sent It

There IS a way to delete a text message from somebody’s phone before they have read it. Repeat, there is actually a way to delete sent texts before the recipient has opened them. After countless times of wishing we could 'unsend' a risky message after a few drinks, this is the news we've all been waiting for. Praise be the tech gods of the mobile phone world.

If you’ve ever regretted sending a text, which we imagine is a scenario nearly everyone can identitfy with, then new app Privates acts as your own personal (non-illegal) cleaner, getting you out of any potential tricky spots that an ill-judged text, or picture, may get you in... Phew.

Privates, which is currently available on Apple iOS (though Windows and Android versions are expected to be up next), allows users to recall messages before the recipient opens the message, so obviously speed is paramount if you want the app to work.

In tandem with immediate recall function, Privates also allows users to customise’ self-destruct settings’ by selecting from three levels of security – Mild, Wild and Insane – which deletes the message (so long as it’s unread) after three, 12, 24 hours accordingly.

Speaking to Metro.co.uk, Dr Isaac Datikashvili, the creator of the app explained:‘I’m very honest about that but it’s better than anything else at maintaining privacy.

‘It’s not impossible but it’s virtually impossible for one person to screen grab or save anything if the security setting is high,’ here referring to the screenshot prevention mechanism which prevents recipients from forwarding, copying or saving your messages.

You can download Privates for free here

READ MORE: The Truth About Charging Your iPhone Overnight

READ MORE: Are You A Phone Zombie?

Grazia magazine cover